Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
Tourist Information

Quick facts on Qatar Visa – your common queries answered

21 February 2020

Here is some quick basic information on Qatar visas, wherein you can find answers to most of your common queries:

How much does Qatar Visa cost?

The cost of your Qatar visa depends on the processing time you choose, and this can vary between the countries.

A fee of QR200 is applicable for each visa, with QR50 for each registered dependent or companion. The visa is extended against the same fee with overstay fine of QR200 being applicable per day.

qatrar visa

What are the types of Qatar Visas?

Qatar is one of the fastest growing countries in the world in the Gulf region, and people from across the world visit Qatar all through the year either for work purposes or as visitors. So, based on their purpose of visit, Qatar offers several types of visas. These include:

Tourist Visa

These visas are offered to tourists on arrival in Qatar. There are two types of Qatar Visas: Qatar short tourist visa (2 weeks) and Qatar long tourist visa (90 days).

Business Visa

If you are working for a Qatari company, then you are eligible for a Qatar Business Visa. But, it will be the sole responsibility of the company to arrange this visa for you.

Work Visa

This visa can be sponsored by your employer if you have worked for at least 2 years for the same employer.

Visit Visa

This type of visa is offered when you have a relative in Qatar who is sponsoring it for you. Qatar visit visa has a six-month validity.

Family Visa

This visa does not have an expiry date unlike visit visa. With this visa, when working as an expat in Qatar, you can sponsor your family to come and stay with you in Qatar.

GCC Resident Visa

If you are a GCC resident, you are eligible for this visa on arrival. However, your job may also be taken into consideration when seeking this visa.

Multiple Entry Visa

Multiple visas with a validity of more than one year are issued to individual companies and government establishments that have approval from a specialized authority.

Which nations are allowed visa-free travel to Qatar?

Citizens of GCC countries do not require a visa or permit or to be sponsored by a national or resident in the UAE. They need to produce their GCC country passport or national ID card at the point of entry into the UAE.

The GCC countries include Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the UAE, Qatar, Bahrain and Oman.

Which nations are granted visa-on-arrival in Qatar?

Here's the list of countries that are granted visa-free entry. Nationals from these countries are eligible for visa-free entry upon arrival in Qatar.

If you are a national of any of the countries listed below, your visa waiver will have a validity of 180 days from the date of issuance, and the holder can spend upto 90 days in Qatar in a single trip, or on multiple trips. 

(90 days): All European Union Nationals (except Ireland), Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Bahamas, Brazil, Dominican Republic, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Norway, Serbia, Seychelles, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine.

For nationals belonging to the below-listed countries, the visa waiver would be valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and the holder is entitled to stay for upto 30 days in Qatar during a single trip or on multiple trips. The waiver can be extended for another 30days.

(30 days): Andorra, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bolivia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Georgia, Guyana, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, Paraguay, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Thailand, United Kingdom, Costa Rica, Lebanon, Maldives, Peru, Russia, Rwanda, San Marino, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela.

Robin Vinod

Writer/blogger who writes on topics such as travel, real estate, employment and everyday life on GCC countries.

Top Doha Sightseeing Tickets and Passes