Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
Latest News

FIFA Arab Cup 2021 opens in Qatar

01 December 2021

Qatar plays host to the FIFA Arab Cup 2021 from Tuesday, about a year ahead of the World Cup 2022, which is the first to happen in the Middle East.

Tunisia takes on Mauritania on Day one of the opening of the tournament with Iraq, which is one of the most successful teams in the competition so far, with four titles to their credit, and playing against Oman in the second match.

Fifa Arab Cup
Qatar will pay Bahrain and the UAE will lock horns with Syria in the other matches.

A total of 16 teams are to take part, and they are divided into four groups as below:

Group A: Qatar, Oman, Iraq, Bahrain
Group B: Tunisia, Syria, UAE, Muritania
Group C: Morocco, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Palestine
Group D: Algeria, Lebanon, Egypt, Sudan

Each team plays three group matches with top two sides from each group progressing into quarter-finals to be held on 10th and 11th December. 

The four winners will meet in the semi-finals. The finals will be held on 18th December, Qatar’s National Day.

The tournament will be held in six stadiums across the country. While four of the stadiums have already hosted matches, Ras Abu Aboud Stadium in Doha and Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor will open on the day of the tournament.

Robin Vinod

Writer/blogger who writes on topics such as travel, real estate, employment and everyday life on GCC countries.

Top Doha Sightseeing Tickets and Passes

Related Articles